Well, that "special" day is once more almost upon us. A chance for families to gather, celebrate something they don't quite understand, and enjoy spending time with eachother. Or just get absolutely rat-arsed, spend half the day screaming obscenities at eachother, and the other half ignoring eachother.
Anyway, stuff Xmas day. I don't like it. It's an overly-inflated excuse for multi-national conglomerates to charge extortionately high prices for cheap pieces of tat that people buy for eachother, only to be banished to some dark and god-forsaken cupboard, once the festivities are forgotten.
As you've probably gathered, tomorrow will be amongst the lowest points on my calendar. But others enjoy it, and they do me no harm, so they can get on with it. As long as I'm fed, watered and given a few books and some music, I'll not complain.
Today has been... Mediocre. Better than I predict tomorrow will be though. Done nothing much except be screamed at by my dear mother for not doing enough. And almost been forced to drink a half a pint of rum by our next-door neighbour, "for the cough". And been teased mercilessly by said neighbour, his family and mine for having a girlfriend.
Which brings me on to yesterday.
She was met by family (and obviously, my family was met by her...). I think it went well. They like her. I THINK (and HOPE...) she likes them. The only slight stumbling block was her semi-monoglotism (and it wasn't really at all bad), but that's something we're going to work on together.
Anyway. Regardless of my family's opinions (none of which I respect, even remotely), and the relentless teasing, ribbing, and general face-reddening comments directed at myself, yesterday was... Amazing. A whole afternoon spent in the company of a being fairer than any I could ever have imagined. The loss of a certain bovine virginity (which I WON'T explain... Unless you ask me to...). And the fact that we had... TIME. So much time. Just to spend in eachother's company.
I won't be so insulting to your intellect and common-sense as to say that all we did was chit-chat, but just having her there, with me, without having to be continuously watching the clock, was amazing. I wish it had never ended. Being constantly watched (and occasionally interrupted) by a (little TOO) faithful canine companion of mine was a LITTLE unnerving, and a TAD annoying... But it didn't really matter. We were just TOGETHER. And I felt safe, happy, and LOVED.
I hope we can do it again. Soon. And have even MORE time.
I love her so much. She truly is amazing. She brightens everything up, and always makes me feel good - about general situations, and myself, and the latter is... An amazing feeling. Something that nobody else succeeds in doing nearly as well as she does.
I realise I've said the word "amazing" probably a few more times than are strictly needed, and that if I don't stop dribbling soon, I shall drown.
Therefore I'll stop here.
I wish you all a very merry Xmas.
End.
No comments:
Post a Comment