I must be honest. I haven't liked ALL the presents I've ever received.
I have received things (e.g. an umbrella, a packet of pencils, a ring-binder, etc.) that have, quite frankly, left me stone cold. I mean, who wouldn't prefer to have a new CD, or a good book, or a video-game?
Still, on these occassions, I have maintained a sense of decorum. I have profusely thanked the giver, whomsoever they may have been, and at least seen the LOGIC behind the present, if not actually WANTED it.
However, I was stunned by the reaction of someone last night, whose birthday is today, and whose present I gave to her last night.
Instead of thanking me for getting her the new Priests (whom I was under the impression she LOVED...) CD, I instead got "Oh, I hope it's not all hymns... Great...".
I was astonished. Money had been spent, and the effort taken to buy the damn CD, and the thought of getting someone something they (supposedly) would very much enjoy. But it was met with no so much as a VENEER of thanks.
I'm not asking for it to actually be appreciated. I wouldn't mind. "Oh... Well, I'm not a huge fan of hymns, and I think this'll be quite similar to the first album... But thank you anyway" would have sufficed.
But no. It wasn't to be.
Now I am DESPERATELY trawling the internet (specifically Amazon and iTunes), trying to find something that will be met with the SLIGHTEST degree of approval.
I think I'll fail. I always do.
But at least my conscience is clear.
Off on a seperate tangent now...
I'm surprised that my driving is coming along so nicely.
Having been used to driving tractors, I understood the THEORY of driving better than PRACTICAL driving. I used to treat cars like tractors, and swing them out for junctions, and trundle along in a high gear, at low revs. Which is perfect for maximum possible torque when driving a tractor.
But bloody useless when trying to pull away quickly from a junction in a car.
Although I do occassionally lapse, and incur the wrath (EVER so mildly, to be fair) of my instructor, he says I'm coming along amazingly well.
Soon, I should be ready to take my practical test.
APPARENTLY...
PERSONALLY, I'd like at least another month of practice.
Just to be safe.
But I have to be honest, and say that I'm pretty chuffed with myself.
And another tangent...
I'm amazed how easy it is to UNDERSTAND work, but not to REMEMBER it.
Yesterday morning, I had a mock Chemistry AS exam. I did NOT revise, as I wanted to see what I knew, and therefore what I need to CONCENTRATE on.
Apparently, I've scraped a pass. Therefore, it seems pretty obvious that what I know doesn't amount to much.
But, according to the head of Chemistry in Gorseinon, it's obvious that I understand the work, having read my answers. However, it's ALSO obvious that I didn't revise, and therefore don't remember it.
But I'm determined to pass my AS levels with sodding flying colours, so I'm going to start pulling my finger out (not LITERALLY, of course...), and revising now and then.
I'm also looking for a new bass-guitar, and possibly a double-bass.
And a new guitar.
If any of you who read this know someone/somewhere who/which can sell me a jazz bass-guitar, or a hollowbody guitar, I'd be very greatful to you. The same applies to the double-bass issue, although, being a TAD more specialized, I don't expect many results on that front.
Anyway, thank you for reading.
Goodness knows WHY you do... You must have infernally boring lives.
But thank you anyway.
I hope your week, so far, is going well.
End.
lmfao It's weird why a circle of us give up some time from our day to read other people's blogs, but we do! xD We are a strange species...
ReplyDeleteI have an Encore Bass Guitar (and normal electric guitar) that's in the attic. I know it's useless, but meh... Thought I'd tell you because then I'd look slightly cool!
x
Aye. :) It's interesting though. And entertaining too. :)
ReplyDeleteAnd yup. The strangest species of all.
:L In the attic? :P Pleb...
Seriously though, is it a new one, or an old one? If it's old, it's worth a bit. Stuff like the 1971 Encore Jazz-Basses are AMAZING... ^^ Please check?
PLEASE?
:P Sophie, you ARE cool. Saying your guitars are in the attic makes you UNcool though. :P
xox
Hey! xD I got it for Christmas like, a year or two ago. So I'm guessing it's not old old... I have no idea what kind of bass it is. What's the difference between a normal one and a jazz one? xD
ReplyDeleteAaaaaaahh... :) No worries.
ReplyDeleteWell... Basically just the shape. But with the older ones, the pickups are different too. Much more mellow. 8)
xox